St Mary, Aston

Living God's Love

  • St Marys Church
  • Broadwater Lane
  • Aston, Hertfordshire
  • Web site updated -7th July 2020
  • SG2 7EN

Website Queries - 01438369083
Email Us

The Liturgical Year

The annual cycle of the Christian year allows us to commemorate the life and ministry of Christ, to celebrate the gift of the Holy Spirit which led to the foundation of the early Church, and to recall the ministry of the apostles and martyrs who spread the Christian faith.

"The liturgical year provides a structure for the Church's collective memory, a way of consecrating our human experience of time in the celebration of God's work - in Christ and in human beings made holy through Christ.

"This act of Christian remembering has proved, over time, to have an extraordinary depth. Through the structuring of our Christian memory, the past is able to come into our present."

Common Worship: Times and Seasons

The liturgical year is divided into the following seasons:

Ordinary Time - Following the Presentation of Christ in the Temple
Easter - which includes the Easter Vigil and the Easter Liturgy
Ordinary Time - following Pentecost

The Collect - Nothing at all to do with money!   See collection for this!   No, a collect is a prayer.   The Church of England divides the year into seasons and allocates appropriate Scripture readings (known, in the Book of Common Prayer, as lessons) for each Sunday and also a prayer, known as “the collect of the day”.   Those that appear in the Book of Common Prayer and, modernised, in Common Worship are largely the work of Cranmer.   Most of them are structured to begin with a statement of a particular attribute of God, which is then developed into a petition appropriate to the day, linked to the lessons for the day.   In addition to their use in public worship, they form a valuable resource for the prayers of the individual Christian.